Business Directory
Be Social
Follow SBofT on Twitter

Website Supporters

View Mobile Website



2014 Surrey Business Award Finalists Announced

On Thursday, November 6, 2014, the Surrey Board of Trade will recognize 6 of Surrey’s best businesses in different award categories at the Academy Awards style 16th Annual Surrey Business Excellence Awards. The SBOT’s 16th Annual Surrey Business Excellence Awards, with Presenting Sponsors Kwantlen Polytechnic University and TD Bank, will feature Pamela Martin as Master of Ceremonies. This year’s event will also feature a new Corporate Social Responsibility Award, recognizing a business that is operating in an economically, socially and environmentally responsible manner.

Thursday, November 6, 2014
Networking Cocktail Reception:
  6:00 – 7:00 p.m.
Dinner and Awards Presentation:
7:00 – 9:30 p.m.
  Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel (15269 104th Ave. Surrey, B.C.)
are $110 (+GST) each or $1050 (+GST) for a table of 10.


Click to read more ...


Kevin Falcon to speak at Greater Vancouver Home Builders and Surrey Board of Trade Lunch - Nov 5

The Greater Vancouver Home Builders’ Association and the Surrey Board of Trade are jointly hosting a lunch featuring keynote speaker, Kevin Falcon, Executive Vice-President with Anthem Properties and former BC Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance on Wednesday, November 5, 2014.

The relationship between the development industry and government. He will speak to how developers can engage more effectively with municipal governments, changes needed at city and provincial government levels to support a thriving home building industry and how cities and developers currently engage to produce market-based housing.  

Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel-15269 104 Ave, Surrey, BC

Date/Time Information:
Wednesday, Nov 5, 2014
Registration and lunch: 11:30AM
Program: 12:00PM - 1:30PM

Sponsored by: FortisBC

Registration and payment can be made by calling Jo-Ann Huber at the Surrey Board of Trade at 604-581-7130.


1st Innovative Labour Solutions Award Winners Announced, Recognizing Employers Hiring Persons with Disabilities

PLUS Full Photo Shots at: 

The 1st Innovative Labour Solutions Award Winners Announced, Recognizing Employers Hiring Persons with Disabilities took place on Wednesday, October 15, 2014.  The unique partnership of: The City of Surrey, the Rotary Club of Surrey, Milieu Employment Services, Community Living BC, and the Surrey Board of Trade awarded three employers and businesses in Surrey, Delta, White Rock that have gone above and beyond to create a welcoming, inclusive workplace. A welcoming workplace is where everyone feels valued and respected, promotes inclusive hiring and provides meaningful employment opportunities for adults with developmental disabilities.

The hosts celebrated, recognized and took great pride in the employers that make a difference in the lives of British Columbians trying to overcome social and economic barriers: by believing in their ability to realize their full potential and make meaningful contributions to their community; and, by providing access to services to help them achieve their goals.

The hosts also awarded Pathfinder Youth Centre Society, unanimously chosen, as the recipient of this year’s $1,000.00 award to a community organization that is excelling in supporting individuals with developmental disabilities access employment.

The hosts came together, in a unique partnership between service organizations and business, to honor Inclusive Employers that:

Click to read more ...


Surrey scores a C in landmark study



SURREY, BC (October 7, 2014) --- SurreyCares, in partnership with the Surrey Board of Trade, released the results of Surrey’s first Vital Signs study this morning. The report investigated updated statistical data as well as public opinion on issues ranging from crime to the economy.

“This reports gives the laser-like focus needed to create a more vibrant, livable city,” states Anita Huberman, CEO of the Surrey Board of Trade.

“We were surprised by some of the things we learned,” states Jeff Hector, president of SurreyCares. “The study reveals that residents have an honest, community-driven pride and a deep interest in where we are going.”

The report includes the results of a public opinion survey where residents assigned ‘grades’ on eleven areas that measure quality of life. Overall, the community scored C, or ‘Average’, on its first report card. The areas rating the greatest interest of residents are:

Click to read more ...